Achievements and Awards

  • Started the Indian chapter of Clinical Robotic Surgery Association (USA), the first international chapter of the organization in 2019. It has now more than 200 members.
  • Appointed to the executive body of Clinical Robotic Surgery Association, USA
  • Elected to national executive of Obesity Surgery Society of India (OSSI) in 2020
  • Appointed Editorial board member of prestigious “Surgery for Obesity and Related Diseases” journal, USA (Impact factor: 4.5).
  • International Scholar of Surgical Education award 2016 by American College of Surgeons, at annual congress in Washington DC, USA.  
  • Baxiram S. & Kankuben B. Gelot International Scholar award 2014 by American College of Surgeons, Chicago. 
  • Winner of Gloden Globe Video award in ASICON 2015, the annual conference of Association of Surgeons of India held at Gurgaon from Dec. 16 – Dec. 20, 2015.  
  • Received the Times of India Healthcare achiever award at Taj Palace for “Excellence in Minimal Access and Bariatric Surgery” on November 25, 2018.
  • Awarded “Best Doctor in Robotic and Bariatric Surgery” by Health Minister of Maharashtra, in 10th MT Healthcare Awards at Bombay Exhibition Centre, Mumbai on March 6, 2020 by Medgate Today.
  • Awarded Indian Health Professional Award for excellence in General Surgery on Dec 23, 2017.
  • Performed first bariatric surgical procedure of the state of Himachal Pradesh, transmitted live at Indira Gandhi Medical College, Shimla and witnessed by Chief Minister of the state on Nov 30, 2019.
  • Best paper award in BPCON 2015, 25th annual conference of Indian Society of Hypertension held at ESIC Medical College, Faridabad from Nov. 20-22, 2015. 
  • Best paper award in SURGICON 2007 (Annual conference of Delhi state chapter of ASI) held at Maulana Azad Medical College in Nov. 2007.
  • Appointed Associate Editor for Clinical Robotic Surgery Association website.
  • Awarded Meghna Krishan Baveja Memorial Scholarship for best all-round performance in first professional MBBS in 2001.
  • Awarded Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan Scholarship by H.P. Government in 2000 for meritorious career.
  • Ranked first in All India Entrance Exam for Fellowship of National Board (Minimal Access Surgery) conducted by National Board in January 2010.
  • Ranked first in HPPMT 2000 entrance examination.

Dr. Vivek Bindal

Dr. Vivek Bindal Director & Head -Institute of Minimal Access, Bariatric, and Robotic Surgery